Shoe thrown at PML-N lawmaker in KP assembly; session delayed

 Shoe thrown at PML-N lawmaker in KP assembly; session delayed

Shoe thrown at PML-N lawmaker in KP assembly; session delayed

The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Assembly session convened to administer oaths to newly elected members has yet to begin due to a commotion caused by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) workers in the legislature, according to Private News channel on Wednesday.

The session was supposed to begin at 11 a.m., but it has yet to begin because elected lawmakers are having difficulty entering the Assembly hall because multiple Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) workers attempted to enter the floor and even threw “lota” and a shoe at Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) Sobia Shahid.

Furthermore, at least 350 police officers have deployed outside the KP Assembly building. After the Awami National Party announced that it would protest outside the legislature while newly elected members take oaths.

Also Read: Imran Khan, Asad Umar Cleared in May 2022 Case

According to Private News Channel, internet services have also suspended in the vicinity of the KP Assembly.

The KP Assembly will be the third provincial legislature to take oath following the February 8 general election.

Last week, the Punjab and Sindh assemblies sworn in.

Speaker Mushtaq Ghani is expected to swear in the newly elected provincial legislators during today’s session.

“In exercise of the powers conferred by clause (a) of Article 109 of the Constitution. The Governor of KP has been pleased to summon the provincial assembly to meet on February 28, 2024, at 11am. For taking the oath of its members, election and oath of the speaker and deputy speaker,” reads the official notice that was issued earlier this week regarding the meeting to take place.

As many as 113 newly-elected members. Who were elected to the assembly on general seats, are expected to take oath today in the 145-member house. Which will elect its chief minister in coming days. Out of the 145, 30 reserved seats, 26 for women. And four for minorities, have yet to be notified because the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) is currently hearing the matter.

Meanwhile, elections for two general seats postponed due to the deaths of candidates in their respective constituencies.

Also Read: PM Kakar goes to court about missing Baloch students

Following the February 8 polls, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)-backed independent candidates. Who have since joined the Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC). Emerged as the largest party with 90 seats and are in a position to form the province’s government, with Ali Amin Gandapur nominated for chief minister.

Meanwhile, the Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) won seven seats. Followed by the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) with five and the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) with four.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf-Parliamentarians (PTI-P) and the Awami National Party (ANP) have won two and one seats, respectively.

Despite the PML-N’s efforts to rally support from other opposition parties such as the PPP, ANP. And JUI-F to field its own candidate for chief minister. The SIC (essentially PTI-backed candidates) are likely to succeed in electing Gandapur. As the province’s chief executive due to their majority in the House.

Web Desk

Related post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *