PMC: FSc electives’ marks will be considered for merit

 PMC: FSc electives’ marks will be considered for merit

PMC: Only FSc electives’ marks will be considered for merit

ISLAMABAD, 29 June: Pakistan Medical Commission (PMC) has announced that only the marks of the electives (Biology, Physics, and Chemistry) will be considered to determine candidates’ merits for admissions in the upcoming sessions of medical and dental programs.

The announcement came after the government’s decision that the Matriculation and Intermediate board examinations will only test students in their electives.

A spokesman for the PMC said:

The National Medical and Dental Council has approved a policy to determine merit for the upcoming MBBS and BDS enrolments in line with the government’s policy.

Only the marks obtained by students in the FSc exams of science electives will be used for calculating the merit. This formula will apply to all students taking FSc exams in 2021 and those applying on the basis of either the last year’s FSc exam results or A-Level exam results to prevent discrimination in merit calculation.

He added that the PMC has also approved a special window from 10 January 2022 to 10 February 2022 for colleges to accommodate the candidates who will take the A-Level examinations in October 2021 and whose results are expected in next February.

“The specific methodology will be notified as an addendum to the PMC Medical and Dental Undergraduate Education (Admission, Curriculum, and Conduct) Regulation, 2021,” he stated.

Last year’s examinations were not conducted because of the pandemic, and high school students were mostly promoted without examinations.

Students were expecting similar promotions this year as the pandemic has not subsided but the Minister for Education, Shafqat Mahmood, is adamant that examinations will be held in 2021 even if just for the electives.

The PMC spokesperson added that, in principle, the NMDC has approved a phased approach to the enforcement of the new standards of medical education, and medical education institutions will be given reasonable time to comply with the new standards.

Another development is the change in inspection scores of educational institutions that will now be represented by four grades (A+, A, B, and C) instead of the actual marks obtained, in order to avoid any public assumptions of the rankings.

Web Desk

Related post