Newly Elected Lawmakers Sworn In at National Assembly Session

 Newly Elected Lawmakers Sworn In at National Assembly Session

Newly Elected Lawmakers Sworn In at National Assembly Session

ISLAMABAD: Newly elected lawmakers took their oath of office on Thursday at the first session of the 16th National Assembly (NA), amidst protests from Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) lawmakers.

Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, the outgoing Speaker, administered the oath to the newly elected MNAs.

The session began with the recitation of the Holy Quran, followed by a Naat recitation.

Nawaz Sharif, Shehbaz Sharif, Asif Ali Zardari, Bilawal Bhutto. And Maulana Fazlur Rehman were among the prominent politicians present in the House.

Soon after the national anthem, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)-backed lawmakers surrounded the speaker’s desk.

Also Read: Abdul Khaliq Achakzai Chosen as Balochistan Assembly Speaker

It was after an appeal by the speaker that the lawmakers settled down. And the oath taken by all the members. 

However, as soon as the oath administered. The PTI-SIC lawmakers asked the speaker that they allowed to speak on a point of order. 

But their request turned down. As the speaker informed them that they could raise the point of order after they had signed the attendance register.

With this, the speaker directed the NA secretary to summon the lawmakers one by one to sign the attendance register.

The PTI-backed lawmakers also chanted pro-Imran Khan slogans such as “Imran Khan zindabad”.

During the signing, SIC lawmakers began chanting “qaidi number 804”. The number given to PTI founder Imran Khan in the Adiala jail, where he has incarcerated since August 2023.

In response, PML-N lawmakers began shouting “ghari chor” (watch thief) in the House.

The new oath-takers represent the country’s political leadership from major parties such as the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP). Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam Fazl (JUI-F), and others.

Effortless security arrangements
As the newly elected National Assembly’s inaugural session began. Foolproof security arrangements put in place in and around Parliament House in Islamabad.

A contingent of Frontier Constabulary and Islamabad Capital Territory police stood guard at the parliament’s main gate.

All traffic entering the Red Zone was diverted to D-Chowk and Margalla Road.

Meanwhile, Sareena Chowk was closed to all traffic, with traffic from Murree Road and Club Road being diverted to Embassy Road. Nadra Chowk remained open only to bikers.

Amid alternate route plan advisory by ICT traffic police. A long queue of vehicles was reported at Embassy Road in Islamabad.

Web Desk

Related post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *