New T20 World Cup format announced by ICC for 2024

 New T20 World Cup format announced by ICC for 2024

New T20 World Cup format announced by ICC for 2024

International Cricket Council (ICC) ICC on Monday announced the new format of the T20 World Cup 2024, scheduled to be held in West Indies and USA.

Qualifying as hosts alongside the West Indies, the tournament will ground-breaking for the USA, hosting their first global event.

Also Read: BCCI fires entire selection committee

The 20-team tournament proper in 2024 will work in two phases before the knockouts, though in a different framework from the First Round/Super 12 format at the 2021 and 2022 edition.

The top two teams in each of the four groups of five will move to a Super Eight phase. Where the remaining sides will split into two groups of four. The top two in each group will then make their way to the semi-finals.

Also Read: Pakistan’s Shaheen Shah Afridi cleared of serious knee injury

As hosts, the West Indies and the USA take up the first two spots for 2024. From there, performances at the 2022 edition, and the ICC T20I rankings cut-off on November 14, determined the next 10 teams.

The top eight teams in Australia (top four in each Super 12 group) gained spots for the 2024 tournament, with Afghanistan and Bangladesh, the next best teams on the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings, also securing their spot.

Also Read: Political unrest: Eng vs Pak, Karachi might host the first Test match

Two teams each from the continents of Africa, Asia, and Europe, while one each from the Pacific and the Americas will qualify, it said.

Web Desk

Related post

Translate »