NA speaker ends entry ban on 7 MNAs

 NA speaker ends entry ban on 7 MNAs

Speaker of National Assembly Asad Qaiser

Islamabad, 17 June: A day after barring seven lawmakers from entering the National Assembly(NA) for creating ruckus during the budget session in the Lower House of Parliament, Speaker Asad Qaiser on Thursday lifted the ban on their entry.

The NA speaker had barred the lawmakers from both sides of the aisle from entering the House for creating ruckus and behaving in an “unparliamentary” manner.

The MNAs included Ali Gohar Khan, Chaudhry Hamid Hameed, Sheikh Rohale Asghar, Faheem Khan, Abdul Majeed Khan, Ali Nawaz Awan, and Syed Agha Rafiullah.

The assembly secretariat has informed the lawmakers and security staff about the entry ban having been lifted.

The NA speaker decided to allow the lawmakers to return to the assembly to bring normalcy to the House. It is noteworthy that the opposition in a letter to the NA speaker had asked him to lift the ban on the entry of the seven lawmakers.

Read more: Govt, Opposition on same page, allowing NA to function ‘normally’

Separately, the government and the opposition reached a consensus for the smooth functioning of the house. The consensus was reached during their talks at the parliament house in Islamabad on Thursday.

Defence Minister Pervez Khattak on Thursday announced that the govt and Opposition have reached an agreement to run the National Assembly(NA) ‘in an orderly manner.

The announcement followed days of ruckus and general disorder in the lower house of Parliament as the Treasury and Opposition benches sparred over the federal budget for the 2022 fiscal year.

Web Desk

Related post